The Padma Awards 2024 were announced on Republic Day, January 26, 2024. A total of 132 awards were conferred, including 5 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan, and 110 Padma Shri. The awards were given to individuals from various fields, including art, literature, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, and sports.

Padma Awards 2024

Here are some of the notable recipients of the Padma Awards 2024:

  • Padma Vibhushan:
    • M. Venkaiah Naidu, former Vice President of India
    • Konidela Chiranjeevi, actor and politician
    • Bindeshwar Pathak (Posthumous), founder of Sulabh International
    • Padma Subrahmanyam, classical dancer
    • Vyjayantimala Bali, classical dancer
  • Padma Bhushan:
    • Mithun Chakraborty, actor
    • Hormusji N. Cama, educationist
    • Sitaram Jindal, industrialist
    • Young Liu, industrialist
    • Ashwin Balachand Mehta, cardiologist
  • Padma Shri:
    • Parbati Baruah, India’s first female elephant mahout
    • Chami Murmu, tribal environmentalist
    • Sangthankima, social worker
    • Jageshwar Yadav, tribal welfare worker
    • Gurvinder Singh, Divyang social worker
    • Sathyanarayana Beleri, rice farmer
    • Dukhu Majhi, tribal environmentalist
    • K. Chellammal, organic farmer
    • Hemchand Manjhi, medicinal practitioner
    • Yanung Jamoh Lego, herbal medicine expert

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian awards in India. They are given to recognize exceptional and distinguished service in various fields. The awards are announced on Republic Day every year and are conferred by the President of India at a ceremonial function held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.