Dwight Howard American Basketballer

Dwight Howard is an American former professional basketball player who played center for 18 seasons in the National Basketball Association (NBA). He is an eight-time NBA All-Star, five-time All-NBA First Team selection, four-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year, and three-time NBA rebounding champion. He also won an NBA championship with the Los Angeles Lakers in 2020.

Early life and career

Dwight Howard was born in Atlanta, Georgia, on December 8, 1985. He played basketball for Southwest Atlanta Christian Academy and was named Mr. Basketball of Georgia in 2004. He was considered one of the top high school prospects in the country and was selected by the Orlando Magic with the first overall pick in the 2004 NBA draft.

Orlando Magic (2004–2012)

Howard made an immediate impact in the NBA, earning Rookie of the Year honors in 2005. He quickly became one of the most dominant centers in the league, leading the Magic to the NBA Finals in 2009. Howard was named Defensive Player of the Year three times during his time with the Magic, and he was also a five-time All-NBA selection.

Houston Rockets (2012–2013)

In August 2012, Howard was traded to the Houston Rockets. He teamed up with James Harden to form a formidable duo, and the Rockets made the playoffs in both of Howard’s seasons with the team.

Los Angeles Lakers (2013–2016)

In July 2013, Howard signed with the Los Angeles Lakers. He played for the Lakers for three seasons, and he was named Defensive Player of the Year in 2014.

Later career

After his stint with the Lakers, Howard played for the Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Hornets, Washington Wizards, Memphis Grizzlies, and Philadelphia 76ers. He also played one season for the Taoyuan Leopards of the P.League+ in Taiwan.

International career

Howard represented the United States at the 2008 Summer Olympics, where he won a bronze medal. He also played for the United States at the 2010 FIBA World Championship, where he won a gold medal.


Dwight Howard is widely considered to be one of the greatest centers in NBA history. He is one of only four players to have won the NBA Defensive Player of the Year award three times, and he is also one of only five players to have led the league in rebounding three times. Howard was a dominant force on both ends of the court, and he was a key player on several successful NBA teams.

Awards and honors

  • NBA champion (2020)
  • 8x NBA All-Star (2007–2014, 2018)
  • 5x All-NBA First Team (2008–2011, 2014)
  • 2x All-NBA Second Team (2012, 2013)
  • 4x NBA Defensive Player of the Year (2009, 2010, 2011, 2014)
  • 3x NBA rebounding champion (2009, 2010, 2012)
  • NBA Rookie of the Year (2005)
  • 2x Olympic bronze medalist (2008, 2012)
  • FIBA World Championship gold medalist (2010)
  • 2x U.S. Basketball Writers Association Defensive Player of the Year (2009, 2010)
  • NBA All-Rookie First Team (2005)
  • Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (2023)